copyright question

JeffreyMiller

copyright question

Post by JeffreyMiller »

Question for which I am hoping someone here will be able to provide an answer ...
Let me preface my question by saying as a published author, I am VERY respectful of copyrights and making sure artists receiving compensation for their work. However, I recently decided to add some artwork to my office wall, and made some real nice scans of football cards for the 1960s. I went to my local Walmart, where I've had photos printed on numerous occasions (and they do nice work, btw), to have my prints made. When the prints came through, the clerk there confiscated the item, citing copyright infringement. I was under the belief that having purchased the cards myself, I could reproduce them for my own personal use. Anyone here know what the law states in a situation like this?
Thanks in advance ..
Jeff Miller
"Gentlemen, it is better to have died a small boy than to fumble this football."
jeckle_and_heckle

Re: copyright question

Post by jeckle_and_heckle »

I can't speak to the law but the same thing happened to me at a Kinkos. I brought in a vintage team photo--think it was the 1945 Cleveland Rams but not sure; it was too big for my home scanner and I wanted it reduced to a smaller size--and the clerk looked at it and said they couldn't copy it, citing certain laws.
"ROGER THAT"
ChrisBabcock

Post by ChrisBabcock »